Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Annotation 5: YA, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games (Book 1)
by Suzanne Collins

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian/Science Fiction
Setting: What used to be North America
Time Period: Post-apocalyptic future after society has been reformed
Tone: Bleak
Storyline: Character-driven
Writing Style: Compelling
Pacing: Fast-paced


District 12, or what used to be part of Appalachia, is on the very outskirts of Panem, the country encompassing what was once North America, produces coal for the other 11 districts and The Capitol. Even though all the coal passes through their hands most residents do not have enough to keep warm nor enough food to eat to sustain them. Everyday Katniss, along with her friend Gale, illegally hunt in the forest to feed their families as the Peacekeepers make it rather difficult to get by. They do this in part to build excitement for the Hunger Games. Each year a boy and girl, ages 12-18, from each district are randomly chosen lottery-style to participate in the Hunger Games. There can only be one winner, one survivor, as the twelve contestants fight to the death in order to be set for life. When Prim, Katniss's 12-year-old sister's name is drawn there is only one thing she can do: volunteer to take her place.

Other books in this series:
  • Catching Fire (2009)
  • Mockingjay (2010)
Series Read-alikes:
  • Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer (dystopian/survival)
  • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld (dystopian/fast-paced)
  • Morning Glories by Nick Spencer (similar storyline, graphic novel)
Other books by this author:
  • Gregor the Overlander, series (2003)
  • When Charlie McButton Lost Power (2005)